Agriculture
Broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture. Comprised of nearly 200 titles.
Ancestry Library
Provides access to a wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research. It includes all available records from the United States Census (1790-1940); military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. -In Library Use Only-
BookBrowse
An online magazine for booklovers – including reviews, previews, “behind the book” backstories, author interviews, reading guides, and much more.
Brainfuse
Access to live, online tutors that can assist on a variety of topics. Get writing assistance, build skills & even get live language learning help. Resources for adult learners include resume assistance, career resources, & more.
Britannica Academic Edition
An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty. Discover encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources and tools that make research easier and more productive.
Britannica Escolar
Encyclopedia that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. Two levels, Primaria for elementary and Secundaria for middle school, offer unique content that is of interest to every student. Search easily across levels by topic or subject area.
Enciclopedia de confianza universal para contenido preciso y apropiado para la edad en español. Dos niveles, Primaria para primaria y Secundaria para secundaria, ofrecen contenido único que es de interés para cada estudiante. Busque fácilmente en todos los niveles por tema o área temática.
Britannica School
Thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases for elementary, middle, or high school students. There is Read-aloud, a font size adjuster, and built-in translation tools support students with special needs and ELLs.
Business Insights: Essentials
Provides access to accurate and up-to-date business, company and industry information and a wide variety of global business information in a single source. Efficiently research business case studies, competitive intelligence, company histories and financial reports and career and investment opportunities. This resource replaces the Gale Business & Company Resource Center. Use the links below to become more familiar with the enhanced search features and content.
Computer Science
Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Culinary Arts
Includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Diversity Studies
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Includes 150 full-text journals. Coverage begins in 1980.
Driving Education Program-Practice Tests
Your Driver Education program contains the following state-specific information:
– 10 car practice tests
– 6 motorcycle practice tests
– 3 CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) practice tests
– 3 online driver’s manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL)
– An FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ DMV-related questions
Educators Reference Complete
Resource for educators and education students. Provides access to periodicals covering pre-school to college and most educational specialties. Also contains federal and international reports and publications, including full-text for many titles cited in ERIC.
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
Over 330 entries, the Encyclopedia covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, the world’s climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, as well as the history atmospheric sciences, biographies of noteworthy contributors to the field, and significant weather events from extreme tropical cyclones to tornadoes to hurricanes
Entrepreneurship
Find over 280 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs. Provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
Environmental Studies & Policy
Provides Instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests. More than 175 journals covered.
Gale Academic OneFile
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world’s leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Gale eBooks
Cross-search, read, download, and email chapters from a growing collection of reference books. There is no loaning or checking out – the books are always available to be read on your computer or portable device. Gale eBooks has ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology built in for 19 languages and on-demand translation for 11 languages.
Gale in Context: Elementary
Look here for trusted information on topics in social studies, science, language arts, and more. Access videos, magazine and news articles, images, and books in an age-appropriate resource with tools designed to develop research skills. Elementary supports literacy, enhances learning, and encourages exploration.
Gale in Context: Middle School
Resource for students in grades 6 to 8. Offers magazines, newspapers, primary sources, over 12,000 videos and more on a variety of topics. Supports national and state curriculum standards in language arts, social studies and science.
Gale OneFile Fine Arts
More than 100 full-text magazines and journals including the Wilson Art Index and RILM. Supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and film-making.
Gale OneFile Gender Studies
Balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Coverage from 30 full-text journals begins in 1980.
Gale OneFile Health & Medicine
Over 2800 journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
Gale OneFile News
Access full text articles from more than 1000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading international titles. Search articles by title, headline, date, author or newspaper section.
Gale OneFile Science
Provides coverage of all scientific endeavor, including particle physics, quantum theory, advanced mathematics, and biotechnology from more than 275 academic journals and general science-focused magazines.
Gardening & Horticulture
Focus specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. Includes content from 50 journals relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
General OneFile
Over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
This five-volume set includes American painting, architecture, sculpture, and photography from the Pre-Columbian sources to the colonial period to the twenty-first century devoting coverage to many previously underrepresented areas of inquiry, including African American artists, Asian American artists, and Native American art, both historical and contemporary. Artists, major movements, institutions, critics, and the architecture found in major cities of the United States are covered, as are new media and methodologies, including digital art, performance art, and installation art.
Hoopla
Instantly borrow free movies, TV series, music albums, eBooks, & eAudiobooks anytime with your library card with no waiting or holds!
Limit of 6 checkouts per month per card
Access Hoopla on your computer or download the Hoopla app for Android or Apple device.
Information Science
Nearly 100 leading industry journals covering topics such as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more. Coverage begins in 1980.
Informe Académico
Spanish interface provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals both from and about Latin America
Kanopy
Stream 8 movies each month for free with your library card!
Kanopy includes titles from A24, A&E, Paramount, PBS, Criterion, and other art house studios, The Great Courses, documentary films, and kids content.
Libby/Overdrive
Download up to 10 eBooks, eAudiobooks, &/or eMagazines at a time onto your smartphone, tablet, or computer
Keep items up to 3 weeks
Titles automatically expire – no late fees!
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) is an extensive collection of award-winning online courses and video tutorials to help you learn business, technical and creative skills. Achieve your personal and professional goals. Courses are taught by recognized industry experts. Learn what you want, when you want, from our entire library. Build custom playlists to organize courses you want to watch. Watch courses on your computer, tablet, or mobile device. Switch back and forth without ever losing your place.
Mango Languages
A fun and interactive online language-learning system to help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian, or English, just to name a few! Lessons range from basic to comprehensive language and grammar skills, and includes lessons in practical conversation skills, providing tutorials, films, and specialty courses in culture. Available from home–set up an account with your email address, and library barcode and select a password.
Military and Intelligence
Over 500 titles and more than 7 million articles with links to related sources outside of the current article: reference books, magazine and newswire articles.
NewsBank America’s News & Access World News
A comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific event or compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. More than 60 Special Reports provide news articles, images, videos, maps and other useful content grouped for convenience under specific topics and themes. Customized email alerts can be set up to follow a particular topic or news event of interest. Newspapers include all the Syracuse Newspapers (12/2/86-Current), Utica Observer Dispatch, Albany Times Union, and many major U.S. metropolitan titles. This collection is text only and has no images.
Newspaper Archive.com
A searchable archive of digital images from US and international newspapers. Coverage includes more than 750 cities and over 2000 newspaper titles. Included in the collection is a searchable archive of Syracuse newspapers from 1857 forward. This collection includes full text and images of newspaper pages. Please note: The years and dates available are incomplete.
NoveList Plus
Database covering more than 120,000 adult, teen and children’s fiction and non-fiction titles. Provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, hundreds of theme-oriented book lists for readers at all grade levels, award-winning and recommended titles, read-alikes, book reviews and much more.
Nursing and Allied Health
Covers all aspects of the Nursing profession — from direct patient care to health care administration – with content from more than 380 journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides overviews, pro/con essays, articles from reference books, newspapers, and magazines, and links to websites, podcasts and videos on over 5,000 topics. Supports NYS Common Core.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Studies
Articles from more than 60 journal titles in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
Pop Culture Studies
Useful information for researchers in social science, history, or art. Includes 100 subject-appropriate periodicals, which are predominantly full-text.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The New York Times Recent
Coverage: 2008 – present (with a three- month lag time). The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to complete and recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable and results can be saved in My Research Account.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal Recent
Coverage: 2008 – present (with a three- month lag time). The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to complete and recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable and results can be saved in My Research Account.
Reference Solutions
A business and consumer research tool to use for quick lookups or creating customized lists. Includes listings for more than 14 million U.S. business, 4 million new businesses, 1.5 million Canadian businesses, more than 800,000 U.S. physicians and dentists and 210 million U.S. residences. Profiles include contact and other directory information. Advanced search allows users to do reverse phone number lookups, search by yellow page heading, business SIC code, zip code, SMSA and more.
Syracuse Post Standard by NewsBank
Includes 12/2/1986 – Current Post Standard issues.
Customized email alerts can be set up to follow a particular topic or news event of interest
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
Over 2,500 entries from 180 international scholars including biographical sketches of important personalities associated with the development of the Jewish religion over the centuries and an index with alternate spellings of Hebrew terms.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology
This three-volume encyclopedia examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times. This set provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States from circa 500 CE to circa 1500.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible
Contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.
U.S. History Collection
A collection of journals providing balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.
Vocations & Careers
Provides content from over 300 largely full-text publications from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
War and Terrorism
Gain insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale. Almost 100 full-text periodicals are included. Coverage begins in 1980.
World History
Balanced coverage of events in World History. Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher. Contains nearly 40 predominantly full-text journals.
WorldCat Discovery
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. [This is not the Onondaga County Public Library catalog.] Paid for in part with funds administered by the Central New York Library Resources Council.